What is Project Management Certification

pma / IPMA® certification

According to the motto: "Certification - but safe!" we currently offer online certifications: learn more ...


Benefits of certification

In addition to proof of PM knowledge and PM experience, pma / IPMA® certification is internationally recognized - in 70 countries and on all continents. You can find an overview of the IPMA® Member Associations on the IPMA® website. After successful certification, you can put the short name of the respective PM certification level on business cards and letterhead after your name.


PM certification also offers the following advantages for your company:

  • Proof of project management competence vis-à-vis the customer
  • Securing a competitive advantage
  • Establishment of a qualification standard and a PM career path in the company


Certification level

The certification is divided into four different levels according to the IPMA® Four-Level-Certification (4-L-C) model, which can be interpreted as a project management career path. For certification at IPMA® Level D, Level C and Level B, knowledge and experience in three competence areas (context competence elements, personal and social competence elements, technical competence elements) are required and evaluated and rated at a corresponding level of difficulty. Depending on your demonstrable experience, you can enter any IPMA® level directly. In the following graphic you can see the respective certification level, the required competencies and the functions that can be filled with a corresponding level, for example.


As part of the pma / IPMA® Delta certification, there is also the option of certifying the entire organization according to the pma / IPMA® standard. Please send inquiries about pma / IPMA® Delta certification to This email address is being protected from spambots. To display JavaScript must be turned on!.


Certification domains

Here you can get to the information pages of the respective certification domains.