What animals eat alligators

Crocodile: Information in the animal lexicon

Crocodiles don't have the best reputation. But the giant reptiles can also do different things. It is high time to dispel a few prejudices! Find out more about the crocodile here

General information about the crocodile

There are a total of 23 species that make up the scientific order of crocodiles (Crocodylia) belong. They are divided into three families:

Real crocodiles (Crocodylidae), Alligators (Alligatoridae) and gavials (Gavialidae). Crocodiles live mainly in rivers and lakes in the tropics and subtropics. Only the saltwater crocodile is found in the sea.

The size and weight of a crocodile

Crocodiles grow their lives. Animals of the large species sometimes measure more than six meters, the smallest only about 1.20 meters. Saltwater crocodiles can weigh up to 2,000 kilograms.

Diet: what do crocodiles eat?

Crocodiles are primarily carnivores. While real crocodiles and alligators usually prey on everything that comes in front of them, gavials prefer to eat fish.

Saltwater crocodiles only eat about 50 times a year. Especially large species can survive for more than a year without a single meal. As ambulance hunters, they often lie patiently for hours, sometimes even days, in the river bed, only their eyes and nostrils protrude from the water. So they wait until a suitable feeding opportunity arises.

Crocodile offspring

Crocodiles lay up to 80 eggs in a nest, from which the young hatch after 40 to 90 days. The temperature in the nest decides which sex the offspring is. If it is less than 30 degrees Celsius, females hatch, it is around 34 degrees Celsius, males. At temperatures in between, both sexes can arise.

Female crocodiles guard their eggs until the little ones hatch. Even so, only one in ten boys survives on average. The others are eaten in the egg or as young by birds of prey or monitor lizards