Is Malta in Europe or Africa

The countries of the EU Malta

Capital: Valletta

Maltese, Englisc

Year of accession to the European Union:

Malta is the southernmost state in Europe. It lies between Europe and Africa. Malta consists of a total of six islands: the main island of Malta, the second largest island of Gozo, the mini island of Comino and the three uninhabited islands of Cominotto, Fifla and St. Paul's Islands. The islands mainly consist of rugged cliffs and rocky bays.

Because of its favorable location in the Mediterranean Sea, Malta has been occupied by many powers over the past centuries. Arabs, Spaniards, French and English conquered the island. Malta was in possession of the Order of St. John the longest. The Order ruled Malta for almost 300 years.

To protect themselves against attacks, the Johanniter converted the island into a fortress.

In the 17th century, the fortifications near Valletta were the strongest in Europe.

The rule of the Johanniter in Malta ended in the 18th century. After renewed fighting, the island became a British colony in 1814

It was not until 1964 that Malta achieved independence. There are still traces of British culture to this day. As in the UK, there is left-hand traffic on Malta's roads.

The symbol of Malta comes from a time long before the wars of conquest.

These are the stone temples that were built in Malta more than 6000 years ago. This makes the Maltese temples older than the pyramids in Egypt!

To this day, researchers are trying to find out more about the temples with the unusual names such as Tarxien, Hagar Qim or Hal Safleui.

Malta in pictures