Is gelatin haram or halal

What is halal Eating according to Islamic beliefs

Discover our regional and seasonal recipe ideas.

All topics related to cooking, baking, inviting and enjoying at a glance.

Nutrition topics & drugstore

Find out what you should consider for a balanced and conscious diet.

Forms and concepts of nutrition

From A for artichoke to Z for pikeperch - find out everything about our great love of food.

In Islam, among other things, the Koran prescribes very precisely what may and may not be served by believers. Pork and alcohol are taboo for Muslims, other foods are allowed.

What are halal foods?

“Halal” is an Arabic word that translates as “permitted”. In connection with nutrition, it is understood to mean the foods that devout Muslims are allowed to eat. The opposite term "haram" defines the forbidden foods, which include alcohol, blood such as sausage, carrion as well as meat and other pork products. Gelatine, for example, which can be found in many sweets, yoghurts and cream cheese, is not permitted according to the halal diet. If the meat comes from another animal, such as poultry, beef or lamb, it must have been processed in a certain way according to strict Islamic law. Halal slaughter is similar to Jewish chutes and the concept of kosher food.

It is not always easy to see what is halal

There is no uniform Halal certification for food, which means that it is not always easy for Muslims to choose the permitted products in everyday life. In industrially processed foods in particular, there are often “haram” components that cannot be recognized at first glance. Fruit juices are clarified with gelatine, fermented foods such as sauerkraut can contain small amounts of alcohol. In the case of sausage with natural casing instead of artificial casing, it can come from pork. Fresh fruit and vegetables, eggs, fresh milk and vegetable oils are classified as safe. Those who want to eat processed animal products are on the safe side with specialties such as sucuk sausage - be sure to try our menemen recipe and our pide-with-sucuk recipe - if these come from countries with a predominance of Islam.

What is special about the sucuk sausage?

Sucuk sausage is a specialty that is widespread in quite a few countries. Nevertheless, it is mostly associated with Turkish cuisine. It is also becoming more and more popular in Germany. The raw sausage usually consists of beef, veal or lamb and is halal. It gets its strong, very spicy aroma from pepper, salt, cayenne pepper, allspice, garlic and cumin. There are ...

Even more concentrated expert knowledge

Shopping and cooking according to Halal

Halal products can be found in Turkish and Arab shops, among others. There is also food with a Halal certificate, which, however, is not controlled by the state like the organic seal, for example. In case of doubt, a request to the manufacturer of the goods will help. When cooking, you can use Arabic recipes as a guide, and Turkish cuisine also often meets these requirements. Fast food available in this country such as kebab is usually not halal, as the slaughter of animals is prohibited in Germany for animal welfare reasons and the meat would therefore have to be imported by the snack bar operators.

Deactivate ad blocker

You have activated an ad blocker in your browser. In order to be able to use this website to its full functionality, we recommend that you deactivate the AdBlocker.

Many Thanks!