How do you prioritize your friends

Hidden Facebook Features - Part 4

Assigning priorities, hiding likes or regulating discounts - Facebook also offers a number of hidden functions. In the fourth part of our series we lead you back into the labyrinth of settings and show you unexpected tricks.

Prioritize content

You have probably wondered why you don't get every contribution from your friends or from pages that you have liked in the news feed. The Facebook newsfeed algorithm, which filters the posts according to relevance, is responsible for this. If you react more strongly to certain amounts than to others, their content / sender will be classified as relevant and the likelihood increases that you will receive such postings more often.
But you can also prioritize yourself which friends or pages are shown in your newsfeed. To do this, go to “News Settings” in the Facebook app via “Settings”. On the Facebook page there is a small cogwheel at the top left next to the “News” field via mouse-over.

 
Then you can select Pages & Friends that you want to prioritize.

 
There is even the option of filtering in the Facebook app. For example by friends, pages or alphabetically by name. This makes the search and prioritization much more convenient.

 
The amounts are finally shown in the news in the first place as soon as you open Facebook. Unlike the "Close Friends" setting, you will not receive notification of a newly published post.

 
In this way, subscriptions can also be canceled or connections re-established. The app also allows you to discover pages that correspond to your own interests and shows news from hidden apps.

Hide likes

There is a possibility in the settings to select which likes are visible to whom. This allows you to secure a little more privacy within Facebook and not everyone can see for which pages you have given a "Like".
To do this, go to the link “https://www.facebook.com/DEINNAME/likes” on the top right on the pen and finally to “Edit privacy”. There you can limit the visibility of the likes depending on the category.

 
On the page you can also see which pages you like and subscribe to, filtered by categories.

Target group classification

It is no secret that there are now numerous advertisements on Facebook in addition to status reports from friends and pages. But why do you get exactly this or that advertisement - which target group did you slip into? It's easy to see.
To do this, go to the settings (top right on the start page) in the “General” area and click “Load a copy”. After approval, a personal archive is generated containing a great deal of information. For example shared amounts, messages and information about your own profile.

 
You will receive the data by e-mail to the e-mail address stored on Facebook. (The e-mail is only valid for one day, so be quick, otherwise the data can no longer be downloaded).
Now you can see your data, which is stored on Facebook: profile and contact information, photos, messages, settings. And also the ads information.

 

History of your own status updates

Via this link you can see up-to-date what you have posted on this day in the past few years. Thus, Facebook memories can be revived. Posts that you have shared and in which you have been tagged are shown when you open Facebook. Which content you want to be reminded of can be determined via the "Settings" item. Here people or data can be excluded that you would rather not think about anymore ...

 

See when you have logged in from where

When did you log into Facebook from where? There is a simple way to check whether your own account is being used by someone else without permission (the jealous friend or the suspicious mom ...).

 
Via “Settings” at the top right and “Security” you will find the field “From where you are logging in”. Unfamiliar devices or locations can be easily discovered here. If something seems strange to you, you can log out of all devices and should then change your password.

Estate control

In the same way, there is also the option of adding an estate contact to Facebook.

 
Not a nice topic, but extremely important. Because if something happens to you, a family member or friend can be appointed here to take care of the Facebook account.
The estate contact will not be notified until the account is in memorial status. In addition, it can also be determined here that the account will be deleted in the event of death and no one will have access to it anymore.

More hidden functions

In the past we have reported about the hidden Facebook functions many times. You can find more articles here:

 
Do you have a question about the settings on Facebook or do you even know of other hidden functions? Then we look forward to your comments!