Which countries don't get cold

Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty

After the Second World War in 1945, the Cold War began between the so-called Eastern Bloc and the Western powers. The Soviet Union and some allied countries, such as Hungary and Poland, formed the Eastern Bloc. The western powers were the USA and several allies, such as France and Great Britain.

Just threats, no fights

This Cold War was threatened but not fought; the weapons remained 'cold', so to speak. But the threats became very dangerous: countries built nuclear weapons to frighten one another; there was a kind of competition to see who had the most and largest nuclear weapons. At some point they had so many of these dangerous weapons that they could have destroyed the whole world with them.

180 countries have signed

It couldn't go any further: in 1968 the USA, Great Britain and the Soviet Union signed the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty. In it they stipulated that most of their nuclear weapons would be destroyed and that no material, such as uranium, would be passed on to other countries for the construction of these dangerous weapons. Many other states joined the treaty; also countries that had no nuclear weapons themselves: they promised thereby not to build or buy any nuclear weapons. To date, 191 countries have signed the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty. North Korea left the treaty in 2003, the country's status has been kept open ever since. Experts regularly check whether the federal states are actually adhering to the treaty.

Status: 10/22/2019, 5:37 pm