Why are there child labor laws

What You Should Know About North Carolina Child Labor Laws 2021 - Job Hunting

If you were a teenager in North Carolina and looking for a job, where do you start? It can be helpful to understand the child labor laws in the state first so that you are sure for yourself whether you can work there. State laws can vary. If your family recently moved from Ohio, it doesn't necessarily mean you can work in North Carolina just because you had a job before you moved.

How old do you have to be to work in North Carolina?

You can work in North Carolina if you are 14 years old, but you must have a child labor certificate to do so. You will receive a certificate of employment from the Ministry of Labor or the social welfare office in your district. Fourteen is the same age that federal law sets as the minimum age for work, although there are some exceptions. If there is a conflict between federal and state laws, the more restrictive law applies, but that's not a problem in North Carolina as the minimum ages are the same.

When can a 14 year old work?

Although North Carolina allows a 14-year-old to work, the state treats some teenagers differently based on their exact age. For example, 14- and 15-year-olds can work up to three hours on school days and up to eight hours on extracurricular days. However, they are prohibited from working more than 18 hours during the school weeks or during lessons more than 40 hours in the weeks when the school is closed.

You must also work between 7:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m. except in summer when they can work until 9 p.m. The Wage Hour Act stipulates that young people under the age of 16 must have a break of at least 30 minutes after five consecutive working hours.

Teenagers are not allowed to do jobs that are classified as hazardous, such as most manufacturing jobs or jobs that involve exposure to toxic chemicals or other hazardous substances or working conditions.

Rules for older teenagers

Young people between the ages of 16 and 17 have a little more flexibility in terms of working hours, but usually cannot work between 11 p.m. and 10 p.m. and 5am if the school is open that day. In other words, they can't get off work at 5 a.m. and go to school a few hours later. They can't get off at midnight when they're at school the next day. However, with parental permission and with the permission of a school administrator, this restriction can sometimes be lifted.

Older young people are generally not allowed to work in dangerous conditions and in dangerous professions, but there are exceptions. For example, young people participating in programs defined as apprenticeships under the Fair Labor Standards Act may work in dangerous areas that are normally inaccessible to young people. Discuss your options with your prospective employer, North Carolina child labor agency, or visit the North Carolina State Labor website.